The 98th edition of the Giro d’Italia starts tomorrow with a 17.6km teams time trial into the seaside town of Sanremo and will finish on the 31st of May in Milano. Riders will cover 3,841km over 21 stages in the first Grand Tour of the season.

Simon will line up for his second Giro d’Italia after a successful campaign in 2009 which saw him win stage 14 into San Luca.

“I’m really excited to be back racing at the Giro d’Italia. My last appearance in 2009 was a successful one with a stage win so I’m really excited to be back again with ORICA-GreenEDGE,” said Simon.

After crashing out of Strade Bianche in March, Simon’s racing schedule changed to include the Giro as his first big objective of the season.


“It’s been a rocky preparation leading into the Giro however I am really excited to be here as my first objective. My goal is to win a stage and I will take this objective day by day depending on how I pull up from the previous days racing. I have done quite a few grand tours now however I have never had an early season like this year so I’m going to have to see how I handle the load of the race before selecting a stage to target.

“We have a great group of guys racing the Giro and I think we will be very competitive over the three weeks of racing, maybe not for GC but certainly with guys who can aim for stage wins throughout the race.

“We are hoping to start the Giro off on a good note with the teams time trial tomorrow and put someone in the leaders jersey for the first road stage and we will take things from there.”

Australian viewers can watch the Giro live via SBS Cycling Central. Please visit the Cycling Central website for more information.

Giro d’Italia

Sam Bewley, Esteban Chaves, Simon Clarke, Luke Durbridge, Simon Gerrans, Michael Hepburn, Brett Lancaster, Michael Matthews and Pieter Weening.

Race timetable

Date Stage Location Distance
Saturday 9 May Stage 1 San Lorenzo al Mare - Sanremo (TTT) 17,6 km
Sunday 10 May Stage 2 Albenga - Genova 173 km
Monday 11 May Stage 3 Rapallo - Sestri Levante 136 km
Tuesday 12 May Stage 4 Chiavari - La Spezia 150 km
Wednesday 13 May Stage 5 La Spezia - Abetone 152 km
Thursday 14 May Stage 6 Montecatini Terme - Castiglione Della Pescaia 181 km
Friday 15 May Stage 7 Grosseto - Fiuggi 263 km
Saturday 16 May Stage 8 Fiuggi - Campitello Matese 188 km
Sunday 17 May Stage 9 Beneveto - San Giorgio del Sannio 212 km
Tuesday 19 May Stage 10 Civitanova Marche - Forli 195 km
Wednesday 20 May Stage 11 Forli - Imola 147 km
Thursday 21 May Stage 12 Imola - Vicenza 190 km
Friday 22 May Stage 13 Montecchio Maggiore - Jesolo 153 km
Saturday 23 May Stage 14 Treviso - Valdobbiadene 59,2 km
Sunday 24 May Stage 15 Marostica - Madonna di Campiglio 165 km
Tuesday 26 May Stage 16 Pinzolo - Aprica 175 km
Wednesday 27 May Stage 17 Tirano - Lugano 136 km
Thursday 28 May Stage 18 Melidee - Verbania 172 km
Friday 29 May Stage 19 Gravellona Toce - Cervinia 236 km
Saturday 30 May Stage 20 Saint-Vincen - Sestriere 196 km
Sunday 31 May Stage 21 Torino - Milano 185 km

For more information on the race, please visit the official race website.